First Community Credit Union (FCCU) is announcing its 2019 scholarship recipients.

This year FCCU will award 20 graduating high school seniors from around the Red River Valley with college scholarships. In 2019, FCCU will award approximately $48,000 in scholarships.

FCCU and its Board of Directors are honored to provide 12 new multi-year $1,000 scholarships to the following students to use toward their college academia: Kylie Haas of Bismarck, North Dakota; Anna Roaldson of Bismarck, Jaidyn Sander of Hankinson, North Dakota; McKenna Johnson of Napoleon, North Dakota; Alyssa Lewis of Rosholt, South Dakota; Alexandria Searles of Wyndmere, North Dakota; Veronica Schwartzenberger of Napoleon, Katie David of Cando, North Dakota; Abbey Olson of Devils Lake, North Dakota; Reese Hanson of Mayville, North Dakota; Grace Olson of Warren, North Dakota; and Jada Person of Fargo.

In addition, we are honored to provide an additional eight single-year $1,000 scholarships to Jessica Schmitz of Jamestown, North Dakota; Naiya Karl of Fargo; Emma Steffens of Fairmount, North Dakota; Kassie Breidenbach of Napoleon; Kaelie Kosiak of Wishek, North Dakota; Courtney Peterson of Jamestown; Jaxon Mauch of Mooreton, North Dakota, and Aaron Mack of Jamestown.

“FCCU would like to extend our congratulations to the winners of the 2019 First Community Credit Union Scholarship Foundation Program. Best of luck to all our graduates this year,” said Steve Schmitz, CEO of First Community Credit Union.

Alee Searles, Wyndmere, is the daughter of Samantha Olson. She was selected to receive a multi-year scholarship from FCCU to attend Minnesota State University Moorhead in Moorhead, Minnesota.

Jaidyn Sander, Hankinson, is the daughter of Jodi and Daron Sander. She was selected to receive a multi-year scholarship from FCCU to attend University of Jamestown.

Emma Steffens, Fairmount, is the daughter of Bobbi and Casey Steffens. She was selected to receive a single year scholarship from FCCU to attend North Dakota State University, Fargo.

Jaxon Mauch, Mooreton, is the son of Adam and Jennifer Mauch. He was selected to receive a single year scholarship from FCCU to attend North Dakota State University.

Over the past 22 years, FCCU has given out more than $400,000 in scholarships. The Board of Directors recognizes the importance of young people receiving a good education and wants to encourage young people to do their best. FCCU continues to do its part in providing incentives to help students reach their full potential.

In 2014, First Community Credit Union created a program that supports our dedication to area communities by reinvesting in youth. FCCU donated $1 million into a scholarship foundation to provide additional scholarship dollars to graduating high school students. The earnings from the foundation go to fund scholarship opportunities for members of the credit union for years to come.

During its 80-year history, First Community Credit Union has grown to be North Dakota’s largest credit union with 28 branch locations in 23 communities. As a credit union, FCCU is owned by its members. This is different than other financial institutions which are owned by a select group of stockholders.

The credit union’s profits are returned to the members in the form of better services, accounts, and favorable rates on savings and loans.


Recommended for you

Load comments