Cramer defeats Heitkamp in U.S. Senate race

Rep. Kevin Cramer, right, was supported in his bid for a Senate seat by President Donald Trump when the President visited Fargo in late June. Cramer beat incumbent Heidi Heitkamp in Tuesday’s midterm elections.

North Dakota solidified its support for the Republican Party on election night.

Republican or Republican-supported candidates won in midterm races for the U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives and most state offices on the ballot.

“If we have a divided government, it’s because the people trust a divided government,” Rep. Kevin Cramer, R-N.D., said on election night.

Cramer was elected to a six-year term in the U.S. Senate. He received 178,876 votes, the North Dakota Secretary of State’s office reported.

Cramer defeated incumbent Sen. Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D. She received 143,737 votes.

“For us to succeed, we can and must return to a politics that reflects the goodness of our country and the goodness of North Dakota,” Heitkamp stated.

North Dakota state Sen. Kelly Armstrong, R-District 36, was elected to a two-year term in the U.S. House of Representatives.

“I ran a positive campaign focused on one central message: what’s good for North Dakota is good for the rest of the country,” Armstrong stated.

Armstrong received 192,733 votes. Challenger and former state Sen. Mac Schneider, D-District 42, received 113,891 votes. Independent candidate Charles Tuttle received 13,004 votes.

“(Armstrong’s) success is going to be North Dakota’s success, so I’m going to support him all the way,” Schneider said.

State results

Incumbents were re-elected to six North Dakota offices.

Secretary of State Al Jaeger, an independent candidate with Republican support, received 144,620 votes. Democratic challenger Josh Boschee received 119,983 votes. Independent challenger Michael Coachman received 40,385 votes.

“This will be my last term,” Jaeger told the Fargo Forum.

Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem, R-N.D., received 214,658 votes. Challenger David Clark Thompson, D-N.D., received 102,407 votes.

Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring, R-N.D., received 212,700 votes. Challenger and state Sen. Jim Dotzenrod, D-District 26, received 100,497 votes.

Public Service Commissioner Randy Christmann, R-N.D., received 189,917 votes. Challenger Jean Brandt, D-N.D., received 117,612 votes.

Public Service Commissioner Brian Kroshus ran for the last two years of an unexpired term. Kroshus, a Republican, received 187,107 votes. Democratic challenger Casey Buchmann received 116,718 votes.

Tax Commissioner Ryan Rauschenberger, R-N.D. was re-elected with 182,452 votes. Challenger Kylie Oversen, D-N.D., received 128,244 votes.

Laws and order

Finally, five elections determined legal matters.

Judge Lisa Fair McEvers was re-elected to the North Dakota Supreme Court. She received 177,322 votes in the nonpartisan race. Challenger Robert V. Bolinske Sr. received 91,674 votes.

Measure 1, which called for establishing a North Dakota ethics commission, passed. It received 168,887 votes in favor compared to 146,062 votes against it.

Measure 2, which called for “only a citizen” of the United States as a qualified elector, passed. It received 207,564 votes in favor compared to 107,249 votes against it.

Measure 3, which called for legal recreational marijuana, failed. It received 192,965 votes against it compared to 131,585 votes in favor.

Measure 4, which called for providing emergency responders with personalized license plates, passed. It received 202,642 votes in favor compared to 112,519 votes against it.

The 116th U.S. Congress begins on Thursday, Jan. 3, 2019. The 66th North Dakota Legislative Assembly begins that same day.


Recommended for you

Load comments