WEST FARGO, N.D. — Several Breckenridge-Wahpeton Storm swimmers competed in the Eastern Dakota Conference Championships held Saturday, Nov. 5 at Hurlbert Aquatic Center. Sydni Roberts highlighted the roster with a gold medal finish in the 100-yard freestyle and a bronze showing in the 100 backstroke. Roberts was named to the all-conference team, an honor given to 18 swimmers from the EDC.

Roberts represents Storm as All-EDC swimmer

Sydni Roberts receives a third-place medal at the EDC meet.

Roberts posted a seed time of 55.19 and a finals time of 55.79 to win the freestyle event over Brooklyn Hanson (56.18, Fargo Shanley) and Madee Shea (56.54, West Fargo Sheyenne). Roberts finals time in the backstroke was 1:03.49, trailing only Joely Anderson (102.44, Grand Forks Red River) and Addison Cerney (1:01.29, Fargo North).

Roberts represents Storm as All-EDC swimmer

Eighteen swimmers were named to the all-conference team. Tierney Howell earned Senior Athlete of the Year. Jackie Snyder of Fargo Shanley was named Coach of the Year.

Sports Reporter

Robert has spent over a decade reporting Twin Towns Area athletics, coaching baseball and officiating sporting events. From MMA to golf, he covers the entire sports spectrum through stories, photos and videos. He was named Rookie of the Year in 2021 by the North Dakota Newspaper Association.