The Twin Town World Series was held Wednesday, June 26 at Jefferson Park in Breckenridge, Minnesota. The Yankees won in the Major League, ages 11 and 12, and the Pirates won in the Minor League, ages 9-10.

Special recognition was given out to three individuals for their service.

Tom Wynn received an award highlighting his 40 years of serving youth. The Minor League championship trophy is named the “Tom Wynn Trophy” and a shelter was also named after him. Wynn was the coach of both championship teams.

Dee Nelson received an award for 13 years of service. The main baseball shed was named after her.

“We are able to team up the experienced players with the novice players from both sides of the river and give them an equal experience,” Nelson said. “I enjoy watching them grow throughout the season, becoming more confident and having fun. I am humbled, honored and proud to be a part of something so awesome for our two communities. I am glad that I have been able to be along for the ride.”

Chris Roberts was honored with the naming of Diamond 1 after him. The Major League championship trophy also bears his name.

“Jefferson Park is one of the best youth baseball facilities in the region because of the hard work of many people and businesses in the communities,” he said. “It takes people like Tom Wynn and Dee Nelson, who put in countless hours to make sure our kids get the best baseball experience possible. It’s quite an honor to be included with them.”

Load comments